Clinton CFB Holds 106th Annual Meeting

Clinton CFB Holds 106th Annual Meeting

The Clinton County Farm Bureau held its 106th Annual Meeting on January 30th at Bretz Wildlife Lodge and Winery in Carlyle with approximately 350 members and guests in attendance.  Highlights from the meeting included reports from the organization’s officers, staff, committees, and a couple special recognitions.

Nutrient Stewardship Committee Chairman Cliff Schuette reported that the organization received a grant of $25,525 from the Illinois Farm Bureau, which will be matched with local funds for nutrient stewardship efforts in Clinton County for 2024.  The committee has received over $164,575 in matching grants from the Illinois Farm Bureau since 2016 for this important effort.

Foundation Vice-President Robert Gerstenecker noted the 24 scholarships ($29,000) awarded to students in 2023, and applauded members for their donations over the years.  Through the generosity of our members, the Foundation has been able to award more than 520 scholarships to Clinton County students, totaling almost $470,000 to-date!  Gerstenecker noted that the charitable Foundation has also awarded $37,000 in Veterinarian scholarships and over $80,000 in Teacher Grants.

During his first President’s address, Mark Litteken recapped some of the past year’s programs, activities, and accomplishments, laid out some goals he had for the organization moving forward, and really challenged the membership with the importance of “telling their story” about agriculture.  President Litteken also commented on cooperation with the Clinton County Board this past year to pass Resolutions in support of agriculture and opposition to foreign owned farmland in the county.  President Litteken then invited County Board Chairman Brad Knolhoff to the podium to provide some remarks as well.

Members in attendance also heard reports from Legislative Committee Chairman Ron Holevoet, COUNTRY Financial Agency Manager Derek Nowicki, AITC Coordinator Susan Kleiboeker, Young Leader Committee Chairman Quinton Huelsmann, State Representatives Charlie Meier and Blaine Wilhour, a representative from Congressman Bost’s office, Farm Bureau Manager Brad Conant’s annual report, and a thank you from Carlyle FFA and IL Section 21 FFA President Kylee Wesselmann for the organization’s support of FFA activities in the county.

Directors elected to serve 3-year terms from their respective districts were: Mark Litteken (District 1), Travis Hemker (District 2), Robert Gerstenecker (District 3), Quinton Huelsmann (District 4), and Jeremie Stout (At-Large).  President Mark Litteken also recognized a couple of retiring Directors, including Phillip Hemker’s 12 years of service on the board and John Schemel’s over 42 years of service to the organization.

Following the election of Directors, the meeting was adjourned, door prizes were awarded, and everyone received a pound of Prairie Farms butter as they headed for home.  The Farm Bureau would also like to thank the COUNTRY Financial Agents for donating door prizes and all the members that attended!

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.